Your Cart

Old-Time Radio Listener’s Guide to X Minus One [eBook]

On Sale
Added to cart

Countdown for blastoff... X minus five, four, three, two, X minus one... Fire!

This is the eBook version of the text. For the paperback edition, check out

X Minus One was an NBC-created show that ran weekly from 1956 to 1958 and had an attempted but failed comeback in 1973. It was a science-fiction anthology series; each week was a completely different story, with no recurring characters or cast. Most of the stories came from the pages of “Galaxy Science Fiction” and “Astounding Science Fiction” magazines and were written by the likes of Ray Bradbury, Isaac Asimov, Robert Heinlein, Fletcher Pratt, Robert Bloch, Clifford Simak, and a host of other major authors. 

This book is a listener’s guide to the series. We will carefully examine all 126 of the original stories from a listener’s point of view, including complete synopses and reviews with comments. The book includes links to hear the episodes (online from, and the idea is to listen to the original episodes as you read through the book. If you enjoy short science fiction with big ideas and a helping of humor, this is a great find— there are stories involving spaceships, mind control, Martians, mad scientists, charlatans, and robots aplenty. If you are anything at all like the author, you loved reading the sci-fi classics of the fifties, and now you experience that thrill again… with X Minus One.

You will get the following files:
  • EPUB (1MB)
  • EPUB (1MB)
  • PDF (2MB)

Get Updates About New Releases